Seven high profile independent candidates have signed a landmark leadership agreement on climate change.

Seven high profile independent candidates have signed a landmark leadership agreement committing to work together in the next federal parliament towards a range of broad policy positions and actions on climate change.

The agreement – which was brokered by the Australian Conservation Foundation (ACF) – has been signed by the Member for Wentworth Kerryn Phelps, the Member for Denison Andrew Wilkie, and fellow independent candidates Zali Steggall (Warringah), Oliver Yates (Kooyong), Helen Haines (Indi), Rob Oakeshott (Cowper) and Julia Banks (Flinders).

ACF Chief Executive Officer, Kelly O’Shanassy, commended the candidates for their climate leadership and said the signatories were by no means the only independents running on strong climate change platforms at this election.

“I will be writing to other independent candidates across Australia to invite them to join the Climate Leadership Agreement,” Ms O’Shanassy said.

“This election has been marked by the large number of individuals willing to stand-up and have a go at breaking-up the climate dysfunction and denial impeding action to cut Australian climate pollution.

“Through this agreement ACF hopes to help end the climate wars that have plagued recent governments. Independent candidates committed to acting responsibly on climate change show that climate action is not a choice between left or right but doing what is right.

“This is not an endorsement by ACF of any candidate or party. Our interest is raising the commitment to climate action from everybody standing at this election, and we have been engaging with the major parties in a similar vein through our scorecard process.

“Australians, especially young people, are tired of the delay and disruption to strong climate action. They know climate damage is already hurting our communities through record breaking temperatures, unprecedented fires and worsening droughts.

“This election needs to be a turning point for climate action in this country. We urge people to push all candidates in their electorate to commit to strong climate action and to make climate change a priority in choosing who to vote for this election.”

ACF Media Enquiries

Journalists with enquiries may contact Josh Meadows on 0439 342 992 or Freya Cole on 0477 638 774. For all other enquiries please call 1800 223 669 or email [email protected]