About the award

The ACF Peter Rawlinson Conservation Award celebrates individuals and groups who have made an outstanding voluntary contribution to protecting the environment in Australia. 

Established in 1992, the annual award is given in memory of former ACF Councillor Peter Rawlinson – a zoologist, lecturer in biological science and tireless campaigner for our living world. 

Nominate online


Individuals or not-for-profit groups (excluding ACF staff and Councillors) can be nominated for their voluntary achievements at a local or national level.


The winner will receive a $3,000 prize and a memento. Entries are judged based on the significance of the issues addressed, the outcomes, the degree of difficulty in achieving them, and the level of personal commitment involved.

How to nominate an individual or group

Nominations for 2019 are now open until Saturday 31 August 2019. The winner will be announced at ACF's annual general meeting in November.

Nominate for 2019 award


About Peter Rawlinson

Peter Rawlinson was one of Australia's leading biologists and conservationists. He died on the island of Anak Krakatau, Indonesia, on 11 April 1991, while engaged in research fieldwork. He was only 48 years old.

This award was established in recognition of Peter's outstanding contribution as an environmental campaigner, researcher, teacher – as well as his tireless work for many conservation organisations, especially ACF, where he was Vice-President, Treasurer and Councillor.

Past winner: Todd Dudley

2018 award winner

Grassroots conservationist Todd Dudley was awarded for 20 years of protecting and restoring ecologically-significant landscapes in north-eastern Tasmania’s mountains and coast.

Todd Dudley has campaigned against inappropriate commercial developments in sensitive coastal areas; advised individual landholders, councils and state government on native flora and fauna, weed control and fire management; led the Northeast Bioregional Network, a community conservation group; and brought back bushland to degraded landscapes.

Read Todd's story


Left: Todd Dudley, Melbourne. Photo: James Thomas

Past winner: Goongerah Environment Centre (GECO)

2017 joint award winner

GECO was awarded for the critical citizen science and on-ground surveying work of its volunteers to protect old growth trees and rainforest plants in East Gippsland forests.

Since January of this year, GECO's program has protected over 300 hectares of high conservation value Greater Glider habitat that would otherwise have been logged. In one case, they documented 22 individual Greater Gliders in just one area of forest where VicForests failed to detect any. 

The program has been so successful it was nominated as a finalist in the 2015 United Nations World Environment Day Awards.

Read GECO's story


Right: Marnie Rawlinson, GECO campaigner Ed Hill, ACF CEO Kelly O'Shanassy. Photo: Stephanie Bradford


Past winner: Andrew Lincoln

2017 joint award winner

Andrew was awarded for the countless volunteer hours he has spent documenting rare and endangered wildlife in tracts of threatened forests in Victoria’s Central Highlands and East Gippsland.

Andrew, working unpaid far beyond the hours of nine to five, has trained citizen science groups, developed logging coupe and threatened species maps for other environment groups, and collaborated on celebrated legal interventions to protect Victorian forests. This work has led to logging being permanently halted in a number of active coupes and temporarily halted in many more. A significant number of areas slated for logging have been protected and many new protected zones, totalling many hectares, have been created on the back of Andrew's tireless efforts.

Read Andrew's story


Left: Greater Glider, East Gippsland. Photo: Pavel German/GECO


Past winner: Micklo Corpus

2016 joint award winner

For over two years, Micklo Corpus camped on his own traditional country, 70 kilometres east of Broome in West Australia at the gates of Buru Energy’s Yulleroo fracking site. He continues to share his knowledge of culture and love of country while engaging the community and industry to keep the Kimberley frack free.

Through this award we commend his efforts in highlighting the threats from potential contamination of his land and groundwater.

Read Micklo's story


Right: Micklo Corpus, Broome. Photo: Damian Kelly

Past winner: Regina McKenzie

2016 joint award winner

For many years, Regina McKenzie and other Adnyamathanha Traditional Owners have worked to regenerate and protect their homelands around Yappala Station in the Flinders Ranges.

In April 2016, they woke to the news the area was being considered for a nuclear waste dump – without their consultation or consent.

Since that time, Regina has lead the opposition to this proposal among her people and the broad Australian community.

Read Regina's story


Left: Regina McKenzie, Adelaide. Photo: Hugh Fenton

Past winners

View all past winners